A Book Sanctuary is a space where the right to read and access information is protected and celebrated. It is a local measure that libraries and individuals can take to uphold intellectual freedom—a foundational right in any democratic society. The first Book Sanctuary was launched by Chicago Public Library and the City of Chicago in 2022.

A Book Sanctuary commits to one or more of the following actions:

• Collecting and protecting endangered or frequently challenged books
• Ensuring access to those books in the collection
• Hosting programs and events about banned and challenged books
• Educating the public about the history and impact of book bans and censorship

Live Oak Public Libraries upholds these principles every day—through inclusive programming, a diverse and representative collection, and a commitment to free expression and open access.

The library’s governing body—its Board of Trustees—adopts a formal resolution at a public meeting. On January 19, 2024, the Live Oak Public Libraries Board of Trustees unanimously approved the Book Sanctuary resolution. You can view the full text of the resolution below in the section titled “Book Sanctuary Resolutions.”

This resolution celebrates our enduring commitment to intellectual freedom and reinforces our opposition to censorship in all forms. It also affirms our responsibility to protect patron privacy and uphold every individual’s right to access ideas and information. These are values we have always held—and we believe it’s more important than ever to express them clearly and publicly.

Intellectual freedom is the right of every person to seek, receive, and share ideas and information freely. It is protected by the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, which guarantees freedom of speech, the press, religion, assembly, and the right to petition the government.

No. The Book Sanctuary designation is a statement of values, not a change in policy. Live Oak Public Libraries will continue to follow its Collection Development Policy, which guides how materials are selected, maintained, and made available to the public. This policy is reviewed and approved by the Library Board of Trustees.

We remain committed to patron privacy, open access, and supporting each individual’s right to choose materials for themselves and their families.

Yes. Patrons have the right to express concerns about library materials. We will continue to follow our established review process, which includes a formal request for reconsideration outlined in our Collection Development Policy.

As a Book Sanctuary, Live Oak Public Libraries does not condone the removal or relocation of materials within the collection if those materials meet the standards of our approved policy. Decisions regarding the collection are made by professional staff in accordance with library policy and under the guidance of the Board of Trustees.